Omokoroa Victorious


Following recent interclub success against Whangamata and also Mount Maunganui, the Omokoroa social golfers took on Te Puke, Otumoetai, Omanu, Mount Maunganui and Tauranga in the I’Anson trophy on Sunday 19th June. The day was pleasantly dry and the course in great condition after a sunny week. The southerly breeze kept the players cool for the first nine holes, but the weather steadily improved as the day progressed. There was a full field of 120 players, with 2015 winners Otumoetai back to defend the trophy. The scoring was close, particularly in the Mens section where Omokoroa were tied for first place with Otumoetai on 316 points. In the Ladies section Omokoroa were able to pull ahead finishing with 313 points, ahead of the Mount who were second on 282. Overall, Omokoroa were victorious by a fairly clear margin, winning the trophy for the first time since 2011. The victorious team are pictured below with the trophy. Grateful thanks to the many helpers who assisted in running the competition so smoothly.

Leigh SmithComment