MT Maunganui 2016 72 Hole Open Mixed Foursomes

                                  MOUNT MAUNGANUI GOLF CLUB                            


                           Saturday 29th & Sunday 30thOCTOBER   2016.

Mount Maunganui Golf Club will hold its 26th - 72 Hole Mixed Foursomes Tournament on Saturday 29th & Sunday 30th October 2016.

“The Stanley Cup”, first competed for in 1974 - won by Mr & Mrs Huxley- has since been competed for 26 times and is the trophy prize that all seek to win.

The tournament has proven to be very popular as the long history of tournaments suggests, and continues to attract very good numbers who enjoy playing on one of the top New Zealand Club Golf Courses, with its excellent fairways, fast & true greens and a clubhouse that has it all.

“Naming Sponsor”

“Pacific Coast Village”, the Naming sponsor has had a long association with the tournament and has supported the tournament as “Naming Sponsor” to guarantee continuing success of the event.

2016 will again welcome Pacific Coast Village (Manager Bruce Fleming) as the Naming Sponsor and with support from other sponsors who include - Ebony Boutique, in its third year. 

“The Tournament”

The tournament format involves Foursomes matches across the 3 – 5 divisions, consisting of 16  match-play on each of the 2 days of the tournament, a total of up to 160 players who visit for the weekend.

2013, 2014 & 2015 has managed to attract 4 divisions (128 Players).

“The Players”

The event attracts a solid base of regular participants from all parts of the North Island of NZ plus a regular pairing from Otago, providing a great mix of players from a large number of clubs who add to the enjoyment with the camaraderie a key highlight of the weekend.

26 Clubs were represented in the 2015 tournament, from Otago, Northland, Auckland, Waikato, Hawkes Bay, Gisborne, Wellington and the Bay of Plenty.

There are many regular participants who have been involved for a number of years and attend to  renew acquaintances and the rivalry competing for the Stanley Trophy.

“The History (Winners)”

There are a number of pairings who have feature as winners of the Stanley Cup and include Tony Reynish &  Jackie McDonald (4), Martin & Raewyn Te Moni (1),  Owen & Pip Kendall (3), F & T Howard (3)  and regular winners Mike & Laurel Flattery who have won the trophy 5 times . Mike is a past manager of Pacific Coast Village).

Each Tournament has witnessed many hotly contested match-ups during the playoff rounds and the final rounds across all of the divisions.       Contest is keen and a win is eagerly sought.

R.E Horsfall

Tournament Convenor Phone 575 0590                 Email:

Leigh SmithComment