31st Northpine Bream Bay Classic 2016

 Luke Brown proudly holding the Winner's Trophy

 Luke Brown proudly holding the Winner's Trophy

Despite blustery and cold conditions some elite golfers from 36 different clubs around the country managed to record some very good scores over the 54 holes. Played on the weekend of July 9 and 10 with a full field of 90 players teeing off at daybreak on Saturday all managed to complete their first day of 36 holes before dark – but it was “touch and go”.

Entering into the final round on Sunday the leaders were: Open division – Leonard Powell (Clark’s Beach) 143, Kunaal Singh (Whitford Park) 145 and last year’s winner, Luke Brown (The Pines) 146.  Masters Division – Mark Anderson (Muriwai) 149, Stuart Nicholls (Waitemata) 153 and Gavin Ashwell (Wellsford), Reg Fleet (Gulf Harbour) and Bob Shirley (Carrington) all on 154.  Ladies Division – Sam Dangen (Whangaroa) 159. Brooke Kingi (Whangaroa) and last year’s winner Waipu’s Kylie Jacoby both on 162, and Subin Wui (Pupuke) 163.

Sunday’s extremely windy weather failed to dampen spirits and a good collection of spectators turned up to view the action and enjoythe club’s hospitality.  The southerly wind made the sheltered deck overlooking the 18th green the preferred viewing spot.

An exciting finish to the competition occurred in two divisions.  The ladies had a playoff between last year’s winner Kylie Jacoby from Waipu and Samantha Dangen of Whangaroa, both on 242 over the 3 rounds, with Kylie doing the damage in defending her title.  And in the Open division for the Northpine Bream Bay Classic trophy, last year’s winner Luke Brown of The Pines took the top prize from Bailey Smith of Mt Maunganui in another sudden death playoff, both players completing their three rounds on 220 .  Masters Division winner Mark Anderson of Muriwai Club romped home with a total score of 223 over the three rounds.

Northpine’s director, Richard Wilson presented all the top players with their winnings and of course was especially proud to be presenting the ladies trophy to his daughter Kylie.

Leigh SmithComment