North Harbour win Southen Quadrangular title

North Harbour Trails

The North Harbour open grade men have won the 2015 Southern Quadrangular at Nelson Golf Club on October 17 and 18, to cap off a fantastic year so far for North Harbour’s golfs top men’s team. The team of Mark Hutson (North Shore), Cam Jones (North Shore), Jake Meenhorst (Huapai), Ben Jujnovich (Redwood Park), Sam Reese (Peninsula), Nathan Kim (Gulf Harbour), Kevin Koong (Huapai), James Hydes (Peninsula) and manager Peter Reid were the pride of the association walking away with the title and trophy. With a win over Wellington on Saturday morning 5.5 / 2.5 and a halve with Tasman (4/4) in the afternoon the stage was set for Sunday morning to be a shootout between North Harbour and Canterbury for the title. On Sunday morning North Harbour came out firing to be in a slightly stronger position at the half way stage and on the back nine pulled away to a 5.5 /2.5 victory. This marks the first time North Harbour have won the event since 2011.

The Harbour Open Grade men's team have had a fantastic year to date so far with results as follows:

V Auckland (June) – Win 5.5/4/5

V Northland (July) – Win 6/4

V Bay of Plenty (August) – Win 10/6

V Wellington (S Quad) – Win 5.5 /2.5

V Tasman (S Quad) – Halve 4/4

V Canterbury (S Quad) – Win 5.5/2.5

The final two representative events will be the national SBS stroke play teams event in mid-November and the Interprovincial in early December, both in Invercargill. Five players travel to the SBS and five plus a reserve to the Interprovincial. Two players who were unavailable for the Southern Quadrangular due to other commitments will be available for the both national events, namely Jason Gulasekharam (North Shore) who has been cemented in the No.1 position in the district over the past year in representative events and Chang-Gi Lee (Pupuke) who has had a stunning break out season winning the Bay of Plenty Open and literally being in contention in almost every event he has competed it. Interesting and exciting times ahead for the districts most talented players.

Sarah HeadComment